“I am Narendra Modi’s Wife”

http://www.openthemagazine.com/article/nation/i-am-narendra-modi-s-wife

In a poor village, the woman who is believed to be the estranged wife of the most powerful man in Gujarat lives in a one-room home 

 
“I will not say anything against my husband. He is very powerful. This job is all I have to survive. I am afraid of the consequences” (Photo: SHOME BASU)

 
“I will not say anything against my husband. He is very powerful. This job is all I have to survive. I am afraid of the consequences” (Photo: SHOME BASU)

She is clad in an ill-fitting blouse and a mod­est printed sari. Somewhat stooped, her face is wrinkled, her hands have obviously seen hard times and her hair is pulled back in a tight bun, making her look severe. Dirt grips the cracks of her slipper-clad feet. She could have been any woman in Rajosana village, Gujarat. But then, she is Jashodaben Chimanlal Modi. Everyone in this village knows her as Narendra Modi’s wife.

After the post-Godhra Gujarat riots, Modi’s po­litical foes 

Leave a Reply

