Fifth column: Wasting a mandate (Modi sarkar’s disillusionment)

narendra modi, teachers day, narendra modi teachers day speech, teachers day pm modi speech, teachers day modi speech, modi teachers day, narendra modi speech,indian express editorial

Only good governance can, and so far there are very few signs of it. Nowhere do I see this more than on my travels.As I watched the worrying spectacle of senior ministers submitting their report cards to the RSS last week, I wondered whether the Prime Minister has not forgotten who elected him and why. Does he remember that he became the first prime minister in 30 years to win a full mandate because people were sick of bad governance? Whatever his loyalties to the RSS, he should realise that hyper-nationalism and Hindutva cannot help him bring ‘parivartan’ or ‘vikas.’ Only good governance can, and so far there are very few signs of it. Nowhere do I see this more than on my travels.

On a morning of luminous sunlight last week, I arrived in Srinagar. It was the kind of day that brought back memories from before the violence, but I quickly realised this was no time for nostalgia. Everyone I spoke to laughed cynically when I asked about flood relief and almost everyone added that they had ‘expected more from …

– See more at: http://indianexpress.com/article/opinion/columns/fifth-column-wasting-a-mandate-2/#sthash.xOmuuflH.HP0IiFQ0.dpuf

Leave a Reply

